The Adventure Begins Again

For Sale Sign

So, this happened last week.

In front of our house.

Even though we’ve been planning for this moment for a year, I’m still not sure how I feel about it.

We lived in this house for 7½ years. Minnie Mouse was 3 when we moved in. It was December, and we wasted no time setting up the Christmas tree and decorating for the holidays. It seems like a lifetime ago, and yet just like yesterday.

But, after the honeymoon period was over, I developed a love-hate relationship with this house. I do not love the 3 toilets I have to keep to clean. I do not love the yard work that is required to keep the beautiful backyard looking semi-beautiful. I do not love doing dishes by hand every day. I do not love traveling up and down two flights of stairs to do laundry.

However, I do love the memories we’ve made here. I love the friendship Minnie Mouse developed with the neighbor girl through the back fence. I love the sunroom. I love how the sun pours in the windows of the little office and the master bedroom in the morning, and then in the afternoon it does the same in the other two bedrooms. I love the sour cherry tree in the backyard.

Despite all the reasons our little family has loved this house, we have made a decision to go against the grain, and down-size. No, we aren’t moving into Harriet full-time­–not yet anyway. But, we do know we want to travel more. In order to do that, we have decided to live in a smaller house so we have less to keep up—less to steal our time.

So, we are stepping out on a new adventure. We don’t have a solid plan, which is both a little unsettling and little exciting. But we do have a goal, and that feels good. A goal to spend more time together having adventures and seeing the world. A goal to focus more on people and less on things.

Yes, that does feel good. Very good.

And, in case you’re interested, or just curious, here is the link: http://www.callcarpenter.com/real-estate/28-orchard-lane-anderson-in-46011/21487001/41769813

Leave a Reply

